Architecture for Humanity Builds Lockers for Homeless Shelter

A few months ago I had the opportunity to do some volunteer photography for the local Minneapolis chapter of Architecture for Humanity.  One of their recent projects was building lockers for The Family Place, a day center for homeless families.  Compared to some of the homes I photograph, the lockers where these families keep all their belongings are very small and humble.  Everyone who thinks they have it rough should take a moment to think about what it would be like to live without a home.

Maureen Colburn of LHB, Inc., an architecture firm located here in Minneapolis and Duluth, guided me to this project as being something Architecture for Humanity wanted to get documented.  Check out Architecture for Humanity at their website – http://architectureforhumanity.org/

Also, The Family Place – http://famplace.org/

Everyone I encountered here was very accommodating in allowing me to photograph them and I really appreciate it!

These lockers are truly a different kind of home than most of us know.

About andrea rugg

Professional photographer specializing in location, architecture, product, interiors and gardens. Other interests: bicycling, soccer, gardening, golf, music, travel and walking Boris the dog.
This entry was posted in architectural photography, Houses we live in, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Architecture for Humanity Builds Lockers for Homeless Shelter

  1. Pingback: Boneshaker Books | Andrea Rugg Photography / Blog

  2. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the greatest blogs on the web.
    I will highly recommend this site!

  3. Sabrina says:

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am aan aspiring blog wwriter but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • andrea rugg says:

      Hi Sabrina, So sorry for the very late response to your comment. I didn’t see this comment and I didn’t receive an alert about it. I am not a very experienced blog writer either – I’m more of a visual person although I appreciate good writing. The best advice I can give you is to rewrite many times until you’re happy with what you see. It’s even a good idea to step away from what you have written and come back to it later and see if you still like it. You would do all this before you ever publish the blog. The other practice that really helps one’s writing is to read a lot, it helps you think better with words. And it doesn’t hurt when blogging to include lots of photos and links to other sources. Hope this helps. I need to blog more but I have been too busy.

Leave a Reply

